Call for papers – AERCOMM Workshop

Call for papers

Call for papers – AERCOMM Workshop

5G!Drones project co-organizes with EU-Korea PriMO-5G project the Aerial Communications in 5G and Beyond Networks (AERCOMM) workshop, colocated with IEEE WCNC 2020, 6-9 April 2020, Seoul. Call for papers submission deadline December 31, 2019! You are welcome to submit your paper.

DEADLINE EXTENDED Full paper submission: December 31, 2019 January 12, 2020

Please click HERE to download the CFP.

Please click HERE to submit and manage the Workshop paper for AERCOMM 2020.

In the last decade or so, the use of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), also commonly referred to as drones, has received significant attention from various industry sectors and research communities. This is mostly attributed to the broad of range of UAV-enabled use cases in agriculture, public protection and disaster relief (PPDR), logistics, media production, mapping, and so on. The transformation of UAVs into distributed aerial communications and computing platforms is gathering pace by leveraging research advancements in 5G/6G technologies, edge computing, machine learning, and so on. This transformation promises exciting and high impact use cases and innovations far beyond legacy UAV solutions. The transformation further requires efficient integration of unmanned aerial systems traffic management (UTM) with more conventional air traffic management for an orderly air space with when UAVs are adopted in large numbers. The AERCOMM workshop colocated with IEEE WCNC 2020  aims to provide a venue for exchanging of latest developments between (but not limited to) academic researchers, vendors, operators, verticals and regulators.

To that end, original submissions that discuss research, experimentation and evaluation strategies are encouraged within the following scope or related areas:

  • 3-D placement of aerial base stations
  • Aerial nodes characterization (UAVs, balloons, small/pico satellites)
  • On-demand deployment of multiple aerial base stations
  • Air-to-air channel characterization
  • Multi-tier aerial network architectures
  • Deployment of aerial base stations for optimal quality coverage
  • Energy aware trajectory optimization for aerial base stations
  • Resource management of flying base stations
  • Dynamic utilization of the available spectrum
  • Predictive Deployment of UAV base stations
  • Reliability and availability of UAV-based networks
  • Softwarization and Virtualization for fast deployment networks
  • Allocation of computational resources to UAVs and other flying platforms
  • Services and Service Function Chains deployment in on-demand mobile deployable communication platforms
  • Service functions offloading to mobile aerial nodes
  • Predictive networking for low-latency support of flying objects
  • 3-D handover for aerial users
  • UTM architectures
  • UTM mechanisms and service differentiation
  • UAV key performance indicator evaluations using simulations and trials
  • Network slicing for UTM
  • Slices in constrained environments (Drones, Edge, etc.)
  • 5G enhancements in UTM

IMPORTANT DATES (tentative):

Full paper submission: December 31, 2019 January 12, 2020
Notification of acceptance: January 31, 2020
Final camera ready copy: February 15, 2020
Workshop: 6-9 April 2020 (exact workshop date to be confirmed)

Seoul, South Korea

All submissions should be written in English with a maximum paper length of eight (8) printed pages (10-point font) including figures. The papers exceeding 6 pages will be subject to an additional fee of 100 USD/page. Papers exceeding 8 pages will not be accepted at EDAS. Only PDF files with all fonts embedded are accepted for review. Your submitted PDF file and registered EDAS account must list the same author(s) and title. Accepted papers will be published in the WCNC 2020 Proceedings, and the papers presented by an author at the workshop will be submitted to IEEE Xplore.


The AERCOMM workshop will be full day event consisting of six distinguished speakers providing perspectives from both industry and academia.  The papers accepted for presentation at the workshop will be presented in an interactive session with posters (and some cases video demos) that allow for maximum interaction and deeper discussions. The overall tentative agenda is workshop is outlined below.

Session 1

08:30 – 09:00 – Registration and welcome

9:00 – 10:30 Invited Speakers (3 talks each 30 mins)

10:30 – Coffee Break

Session 2

11:00 –12:30 – Interactive Session/presentation of accepted papers

12:30 – 14:00 – Lunch

Session 3

14:00 – 15:30 Invited Speakers (3 talks, each 30 mins)

15:30 – Coffee Break

Session 4

16:00 – 17:00 –Panel discussion with the 6 invited speakers

17:00 – 17:20 – Closing remarks by the Workshop chairs (5 mins each)

17:20 – Workshop End


General Co-Chairs

Seong-Lyun Kim, Yonsei University, Korea: Prof. Kim is a Professor of wireless networks at the School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea, heading the Robotic & Mobile Networks Laboratory (RAMO) and the Center for Flexible Radio (CFR+). He is co-directing H2020 EUK PriMO-5G project, and leading Smart Factory TF of 5G Forum, Korea.

Prof. Riku Jäntti, Aalto University, Finland: Prof. Jäntti is a Professor (tenured) in Communications Engineering and the head of the department of Communications and Networking at Aalto University School of Electrical Engineering, Espoo, Finland. In addition to other leadership roles, Prof. Jäntti is also the coordinator of the H2020 EUK PriMO-5G project.

Adj. Prof. Jussi Haapola, University of Oulu, Finland: Dr. Jussi Haapola holds and adjunct professorship on heterogeneous IoT and cellular systems for vertical applications and works at the Centre for Wireless Communications, University of Oulu, Finland. He is the coordinator of H2020 ICT-19 project 5G!Drones (No 857031).

Akis Kourtis, NCSR “Demokritos”, Greece: Dr. Akis Kourtis is an Associate Researcher on 5G technologies, NFV, SDN and telecommunications in mobile networks at the Institute of Informatics and Telecommunications at the National Center of Scientific Research “Demokritos”. He is currently involved in various H2020 EU projects, e.g. 5G!Drones, 5GENESIS, 5G ESSENCE, etc

Technical Program Co-Chairs

  • Ki Won Sung, KTH, Sweden
  • Toktam Mahmoodi, KCL, UK
  • Chan-Byoung Chae , Yonsei University, Korea
  • Jussi Haapola, University of Oulu, Finland
  • George Xilouris, NCSRD, Greece

Publication Co-Chairs

  • Sheikh Muhammad, Aalto University, Finland
  • Abdequoddouss Laghrissi, University of Oulu, Finland

Technical Program Committee Members

  • Joongheon Kim, Korea University, Korea
  • Markus Ullmann, National Instruments, Germany
  • Edward Mutafungwa, Aalto University, Finland
  • Fayezeh Ghavimi, Aalto University, Finland
  • Ursula Challita, Ericsson, Sweden
  • Zere Ghebretensaé, Ericsson, Sweden
  • Yung Yi, KAIST, Korea
  • Hyun Cheol Park, KAIST, Korea
  • Kwang Soon Kim, Yonsei University, Korea
  • Dong Ku Kim, Yonsei University, Korea
  • Woonghee Lee, KTH, Sweden
  • Yansha Deng, KCL, UK
  • Jose Costa Requena, Cumucore, Finland
  • Harilaos Koumaras, NCSRD, Greece
  • Tarik Taleb, Aalto University, Finland
  • Ari Pouttu, University of Oulu, Finland
  • George Xilouris, NCSRD, Greece
  • Jussi Haapola, University of Oulu, Finland
  • Abdequoddouss Laghrissi, University of Oulu, Finland
  • Tanel Järvet, Cafa Tech, Estonia
  • Tuomo Hänninen, University of Oulu, Finland

More info on IEEE WCNC 2020 available HERE

More info on EU-Korea PriMO-5G project available HERE